User Guide

This page describes the different interfaces and functions that end users can use to manage their own set of clusters within Coopr. As mentioned earlier in the administration guide, all clusters and nodes within clusters are dictated by templates created by the administrator, made accessible to individual users (or developers), and displayed in the Catalog. These accessible templates are users’ blueprint for their individual cluster instantiation.

The User Home Screen

Login to the Coopr UI using your user credentials at http://<coopr-host>:<coopr-ui-port>/. This will take you to the user home screen, which shows a list of all clusters provisioned by a user. This page displays basic information for each cluster owned by the user, such as current clusters, clusters under construction, and deleted clusters. Active and terminated clusters, however, are shown separately in this interface. Clicking the text at the bottom of the list take you to a separate screen with terminated cluster descriptions and detailed information.

User home screen

Provisioning a new Cluster

Users can provision a cluster by clicking the ‘Create’ button in the upper-right of the screen. Through this page, a user can create a cluster with a given name and template setting (as defined by the system administrator), and specify the number of nodes to allocate to the cluster.

(For more information on how administrators can set templates for provisioning a cluster, see the Administration Guide.)

Cluster creation screen

Advanced Settings

The Coopr User Interface has a number of advanced configuration options. To access the advanced options, click on the blue triangle next to the label ‘Advanced’. This exposes the options to explicitly specify the provider, hardware, and image type to be used for the current cluster.

The ‘Lease Duration’ field allows the user to specify the duration, in days, hours and minutes, that they want to lease the cluster for. Services to place on the cluster can be added or removed from this screen. The ‘Config’ field allows the user to specify additional custom configurations in a JSON-formatted input (for more information, see Macros).

Cluster creation screen - advanced settings

To start the creation of the cluster, click the ‘Create’ button at the bottom on the page.

The Cluster Description Screen

A user can view more details of an existing cluster by clicking on the cluster name on the Home screen, or by selecting ‘Clusters’ -> <name of cluster> in the upper-right of the page. The cluster description page provides an up-to-date status report of a cluster as well as a description of a cluster, the template used to create the cluster, the infrastructure provider, and the list of services installed.

To abort a cluster that is currently being created, click on ‘Abort’ next to the progress bar on this screen.

Cluster description screen

Examining and Accessing the Cluster

On the cluster description screen, nodes are grouped together with the sets of services that are available on them.

Cluster description screen

To view the individual nodes under each service set, click on the text (“1 node with 17 services”) next to the services. From the expanded list, a user can obtain attributes about each node, including its hostname and ID. For certain providers, the list may also show authentication credentials for accessing the nodes, through a service such as SSH.

The expanded list shows a list of attributes for each node. These nodes can now be accessed using the corresponding IP addresses, usernames and passwords (through a service such as SSH).

To view the actions that have been performed on a particular node, click on the ‘Show actions’ button.

Show actions

Deleting a Cluster

The trash can icon with the word ‘Delete’ in the upper-right of the cluster description page deletes the cluster and decommissions the associated nodes. Clusters that are successfully deleted are moved from the ‘Live clusters’ list to the ‘Terminated clusters’ list on the user’s home screen.

Reconfiguring Services

Services can be reconfigured by clicking on the ‘Reconfigure’ button in the upper-right of the cluster description page. Clicking on the button brings you to the reconfigure page.

Reconfigure cluster

Click on ‘Advanced’ to bring up the advanced options. At this point, though many other settings are shown on the screen, only the ‘Config’ section can be changed. Edit the config as desired. There is also an ‘Update’ toggle at the bottom of the page. If restart is on, all cluster services will be restarted after they are reconfigured. If it is off, all service will be reconfigured, but they will not be restarted. You may have to restart them yourself in order for the changes to take place.

Reconfigure cluster

Starting, Stopping, and Restarting Services

Services can be started, stopped, and restarted from the cluster description page screen.

  • To start a service, click on the black downward-triangle next to the service name, to expose the service menu. Select ‘Start’ from the menu.
  • To stop a service, bring up the same menu, and click ‘Stop’.
  • To restart a service, bring up the menu and select ‘Restart’.

When a start, stop, or restart is performed on a cluster service, service runtime dependencies are examined in order to determine if other cluster services also need to be started, stopped, or restarted.

For example, suppose service A depends on service B. A request to stop service B is made. Since service A depends on service B, service A will be stopped before service B is stopped. Similarly, if a request to restart service B is made, service A will be stopped, then service B will be stopped, then service B will be start, and finally service A will be started. If a request to start service A is made, service B will first be started, and then service A will be started. It should be noted that at this time, the system does not track or monitor the status of services. This is why additional starting and stopping of dependent services may occur.

Services can only be started, stopped, or restarted if they are in an active state.

Service actions

Adding Services

Services can be added to an active cluster from the cluster description screen. Services that can be added are services in the template’s compatibility list that are not already on the cluster. To add services to a cluster, click on the ‘Add Service’ button and select a service from the drop down menu. After adding all the services desired, click on the ‘Submit Additional Services’ button to add the new services.

Adding services

User Menu

Users can bring up a user menu by clicking on the button on the very top-right of the screen. This brings up a menu with links to documentation, contacting support, and logging out.

User Menu